SXSW 2014 | SXSW 2013 | Sound City 2014 | Sound City 2013 | Great Escape 2013

Don't forget to like There Goes the Fear on Facebook and follow us on Twitter! ~TGTF HQ x

MP3(s) of the Day (and more!) #623: Fossil Collective

 
By on Friday, 14th September 2012 at 10:00 am
 

Leeds band Fossil Collective is getting ready to release a new EP, ‘On and On’, on the 22nd of October on Dirty Hit. For the video for the title track, the band went to Leeds animators Broken Pixels to produce an interesting, nature-centric promo. You can watch the video below. Mark Radcliffe is a fan of the track, likening Fossil Collective’s sound to Villagers (pre-synth of course) and Band of Horses. Catch the band on tour this October on a headlining tour and supporting the Civil Wars at the end of October into early November at the dates listed at the end of this post; tickets are on sale now.

But this wouldn’t me a MP3 of the Day post if we didn’t have mp3s for you to download. When they were working on ‘On and On’ the studio, Fossil Collective recorded another EP that they wanted to offer to their fans for free. You can get this other EP for free in exchange for your email address in the widget below.

YouTube Preview Image

Friday 12th October 2012 – Doncaster Leopard
Saturday 13th October 2012 – Manchester Deaf Institute
Sunday 14th October 2012 – Newcastle Cluny
Monday 15th October 2012 – Glasgow King Tut’s
Tuesday 16th October 2012 – Liverpool Shipping Forecast
Wednesday 17th October 2012 – Bristol Louisiana
Thursday 18th October 2012 – Birmingham Hare and Hounds
Friday 19th October 2012 – Nottingham Bodega
Satuday 20th October 2012 – Oxford East Oxford Centre Gathering
Sunday 21st October 2012 – Cardiff SWN
Monday 22nd October 2012 – Norwich Waterfront
Tuesday 23rd October 2012 – Cambridge Portland Arms
Wednesday 24th October 2012 – Brighton Hope
Thursday 25th October 2012 – Exeter Phoenix Arts Centre
Friday 26th October 2012 – London Old Queen’s Head
Saturday 27th October 2012 – Leicester Academy 2
Sunday 28th October 2012 – Leeds Brudenell Social Club
Monday 29th October 2012 – Sheffield Soyo
Tuesday 30th October 2012 – Manchester Apollo (supporting the Civil Wars)
Friday 2nd November 2012 – Glasgow ABC (supporting the Civil Wars)
Tuesday 6th November 2012 – London Roundhouse (supporting the Civil Wars)

 

The Killers / October and November 2012 UK Tour

 
By on Wednesday, 5th September 2012 at 9:00 am
 

Las Vegas’s biggest rock band the Killers have announced details of a massive UK tour for October and November. Tickets will go on sale on Friday (7 September) at 9 AM. Support on these dates will be Tegan and Sara.

The next Killers album ‘Battle Born’ will be out on the 17th of September on Vertigo Records. ‘Runaways’, the first single from the new album, will be out on Sunday (9 September).

Friday 26th October 2012 – Glasgow SECC
Saturday 27th October 2012 – Aberdeen AECC
Wednesday 31st October 2012 – Birmingham LG Arena
Thursday 1st November 2012 – Birmingham LG Arena (added 07/09/2012)
Saturday 3rd November 2012 – Nottingham Capital FM Arena
Sunday 4th November 2012 – Newcastle Metro Radio Arena
Monday 5th November 2012 – Cardiff Motorpoint Arena
Thursday 8th November 2012 – Sheffield Motorpoint Arena
Friday 9th November 2012 – Liverpool Echo Arena
Tuesday 13th November 2012 – Manchester Arena
Friday 16th November 2012 – London O2
Saturday 17th November 2012 – London O2

 

Lucy Rose / October and November 2012 UK/Irish Tour

 
By on Tuesday, 28th August 2012 at 3:00 pm
 

Lucy Rose has announced a massive tour of the UK and Ireland for this autumn. A presale begins tomorrow (29 Wednesday 2012), with the general sale on Friday 31 August at 9 AM.

Her debut album ‘Like I Used To’, featuring singles ‘Bikes’ and ‘Lines’, will be released on the 24th of September on Columbia.

Saturday 20th October 2012 – Oxford East Oxford Centre
Sunday 21st October 2012 – Nottingham Bodega
Monday 22nd October 2012 – Cambridge Junction 1
Tuesday 23rd October 2012 – High Wycombe Bucks University
Thursday 25th October 2012 – Manchester Deaf Institute
Friday 26th October 2012 – Birmingham Temple
Sunday 28th October 2012 – Sheffield Plug
Monday 29th October 2012 – Leeds Brudenell Social Club
Tuesday 30th October 2012 – Newcastle Academy 2
Thursday 1st November 2012 – Glasgow Arches
Friday 2nd November 2012 – Edinburgh Electric Circus
Saturday 3rd November 2012 – Belfast Auntie Annie’s
Sunday 4th November 2012 – Dublin Whelan’s
Tuesday 6th November 2012 – Liverpool Kazimier
Wednesday 7th November 2012 – Hull Fruit
Thursday 8th November 2012 – Leicester Scholars Bar
Saturday 10th November 2012 – Coventry Kasbah
Sunday 11th November 2012 – Norwich Arts Centre
Monday 12th November 2012 – Brighton Coalition
Wednesday 14th November 2012 – Southampton Joiners
Thursday 15th November 2012 – Bristol Fleece
Friday 16th November 2012 – Cardiff Gate
Saturday 17th November 2012 – Reading Minster Church
Monday 19th November 2012 – Winchester Railway Inn
Tuesday 20th November 2012 – Guildford Boileroom
Thursday 22nd November 2012 – London Electric Brixton

 

Tall Ships / October 2012 UK Tour

 
By on Wednesday, 22nd August 2012 at 1:30 pm
 

Tall Ships, recently profiled by Braden as a Band to Watch, will be heading out on tour this October.

Their debut album, ‘Everything Touching’, will be out on the 8th of October on Big Scary Monsters and Blood And Biscuits; ‘Gallop’, a single ahead of the album release, will drop on the 24th of September. They’ll be playing Reading (Sunday) / Leeds (Friday) this weekend.

Wednesday 10th October 2012 – Cheltenham Frog and Fiddle
Thursday 11th October 2012 – Kingston New Slang
Friday 12th October 2012 – Brighton Haunt
Saturday 13th October 2012 – Norwich Sound and Vision
Sunday 14th October 2012 – Birmingham Rainbow
Monday 15th October 2012 – Leeds Brudenell Social Club
Tuesday 16th October 2012 – Middlesbrough Keys
Thursday 18th October 2012 – Glasgow Captain’s Rest
Friday 19th October 2012 – Sheffield Bowery
Saturday 21th October 2012 – Manchester Soup Kitchen Basement
Sunday 22th October 2012 – London XOYO
Tuesday 23th October 2012 – Nottingham Bodega
Thursday 25th October 2012 – Falmouth TBC

 

Example / February and March 2013 UK Tour

 
By on Wednesday, 22nd August 2012 at 1:00 pm
 

Example has announced a massive arena tour for early 2013. Tickets are on sale this Friday (24 August) at 9 AM.

Monday 11th February 2013 – Bournemouth BIC
Tuesday 12th February 2013 – Nottingham Capital FM Arena
Wednesday 13th February 2013 – Liverpool Echo Arena
Friday 15th February 2013 – Sheffield Motorpoint Arena
Saturday 16th February 2013 – Newcastle Metro Radio Arena
Sunday 17th February 2013 – Glasgow SECC
Monday 18th February 2013 – Aberdeen AECC
Saturday 23th February 2013 – London Earls Court
Monday 25th February 2013 – Cardiff Motorpoint Arena
Tuesday 26th February 2013 – Brighton Brighton Centre
Thursday 28th February 2013 – Birmingham LG Arena
Friday 1st March 2013 – Manchester Arena

 

Tramlines 2012: Day 3 Roundup

 
By on Tuesday, 21st August 2012 at 2:00 pm
 

After the exhaustion of last night’s Crookes set at Tramlines, Sunday had come right on cue. With an eclectic mix of acts on both of the specially erected city stages, it’s finally time to visit the main stage for local legends The Everly Pregnant Brothers. After seeing them on the busking bus last year, their step up to opening the main stage was one to celebrate as their set of ukulele based Yorkshire-ised popular hits including ‘Chav World (Mad World)’ and ode to Amy Winehouse’s ‘Rehab’ with more Yorkshire than you can shake a pasty at lightens up Devonshire Green with a brilliant atmosphere.

Leaving the main stage for now to return to the Nando’s New Music Stage, Holland (above) play a set of as or yet unknown tracks, one to keep an eye on perhaps? Either way they’re followed by the guitar-pop sounds of Let’s Buy Happiness. The sound is uplifting even if the lyrics are rooted in dark undertones of sarcasm for loves-passed-by. Neither band are in line to set fire to venues and charts, but they’re enjoyable enough for a relaxing afternoon in the sun.

Going off route a bit, its time to venture to new venue The Hop for a band who’re following in the steps of Sheffield duo Wet Nuns with their blend of hearty rock with a twist of blues and energy for good measure. The Blackbirds (below) are loud and riff heavy with some thumping drums and whilst the band have a lot to do before they achieve such levels as their local peers, the promise is undeniable even if the crowd is limited to around twenty people.

Everything in the day has been leading up to one thing though. Whilst across Sheffield, everyone’s winding up to their final headliners including a hugely notable homecoming show for 65daysofstatic on the New Music Stage; indie underdogs and all round nice guys We Are Scientists are due to close the festival on the main stage. The buzz for their support Field Music (below) is sadly nonexistent; you feel the group would have been better off surrounded by their more devoted fans inside somewhere like the Harley, but the band stick to a tight set that sounds a bit amiss in such a setting.

We Are Scientists come on stage though and Devonshire Green starts to dance. Playing a singles collection of their by now well known indie rock tracks with a few new ones added in to test the water on their upcoming fourth record the band haven’t put many notes out in years and that’s appreciated by the gathered Sheffield masses.  Sadly though, once again the stage is running late so in order to catch a few minutes of another local band on the rise, TGTF heads off up to Soyo.

Screaming Maldini are by now underground favourites. The enthusiasm with which they play their fresh breed of music that treads between the singalongs of pop and the eccentricity of math-rock on a delicate line (landing a bit more on the pop sound) makes for a highly enjoyable finish to the weekend. Of course acts continue late into the night, but it’s once again last-train home time and even with the occasional disappointment; Tramlines has once again proved that you can achieve a hugely enjoyable and bustling festival of solid acts without charging a penny to the fans. This time next year, Sheffield?

 
Page 20 of 64« First...10...181920212223...3040...Last »
 
 

About Us

There Goes The Fear is where we tell you about the latest tours, gigs, and music we love and think you should too.

We love music that has its heart on its sleeve, tells a story, swims around our head all day or makes us dance like idiots.

The blog is edited by Mary Chang, who is based in Washington DC. She is joined by writers in the UK and America. It was started up by Phil Singer in Bristol, UK.

All MP3s are posted with the permission of the artists or their representatives and are for sampling only. Like the music? Buy it. If you want a track removed, email us and we'll sort it ASAP.

E-mail us  |  RSS Feed   RSS Feed  

Learn More About Us