SXSW 2014 | SXSW 2013 | Sound City 2014 | Sound City 2013 | Great Escape 2013

Don't forget to like There Goes the Fear on Facebook and follow us on Twitter! ~TGTF HQ x

In the Post #111: Fossil Collective unveil title track to upcoming EP ‘The Water’

 
By on Wednesday, 2nd October 2013 at 1:00 pm
 

It’s difficult to imagine exactly how a band from Leeds should sound. It might have something to do with heavy industry, perhaps a bit of boot-in-the-face blues-rock; certainly there will be an electric guitar or two. Suffice to say whatever the mind conjures it probably won’t be what Fossil Collective offer with their latest song revealed.

‘The Water’ uses layers of acoustic guitar and heavily-reverbed vocals to generate a windswept, desolate landscape, which builds to a gentle, keening brass-laden crescendo of modest beauty. Imagine standing atop a granite boulder somewhere on a windswept corner of the Yorkshire Moors, summoning the spirits of deceased Black Dyke Band members, as photographed by Andreas Gursky. That should do the trick.

‘The Water’ is also the title of their forthcoming EP, to be released on the 28th of October on Dirty Hit Records. We’ve yet to hear the other three tracks, but if they are up to the same standard as this then fans of bucolic UK folk will be dead chuffed, like. Stream ‘The Water’ below, and catch up on their their tour dates across the UK and Ireland posted below as well.

Tuesday 1st October 2013 – Brighton Haunt
Friday 4th October 2013 – Bristol Louisiana
Saturday 5th October 2013 – Cardiff Moon Club
Sunday 6th October 2013 – Exeter Phoenix Art Centre
Monday 7th October 2013 – Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms
Tuesday 8th October 2013 – Oxford Academy
Wednesday 9th October 2013 – London Tabernacle
Thursday 10th October 2013 – Leeds Brudenell Social Club
Friday 11th October 2013 – Liverpool Leaf Cafe
Sunday 13th October 2013 – Edinburgh Cabaret Voltaire
Monday 14th October 2013 – Glasgow King Tut’s
Tuesday 15th October 2013 – Belfast McHughs
Wednesday 16th October 2013 – Dublin Academy 2

 

Palma Violets / November and December 2013 UK Tour

 
By on Tuesday, 10th September 2013 at 9:00 am
 

NME darlings Palma Violets have revealed a massive tour for this coming winter. Tickets are available now.

Monday 18th November 2013 – Wolverhampton Wulfrun Hall
Tuesday 19th November 2013 – Lincoln Engine Room
Thursday 21st November 2013 – Leeds Metropolitan University
Friday 22nd November 2013 – Newcastle University
Saturday 23rd November 2013 – Glasgow ABC
Monday 25th November 2013 – Norwich Waterfront
Tuesday 26th November 2013 – Manchester Ritz
Thursday 28th November 2013 – Oxford Academy
Friday 29th November 2013 – Coventry Kasbah
Saturday 30th November 2013 – Plymouth University
Monday 2nd December 2013 – Southampton University
Tuesday 3rd December 2013 – Bristol Academy
Wednesday 4th December 2013 – Brighton Concorde 2
Thursday 5th December 2013 – London Coronet

 

The Naked and Famous / November and December 2013 UK/Irish Tour

 
By on Monday, 9th September 2013 at 9:00 am
 

New Zealanders The Naked and Famous will be touring the UK and Ireland this winter. Tickets are on sale now. Support will come from London’s Sons and Lovers.

Thursday 21st November 2013 – Manchester Ritz
Friday 22nd November 2013 – Birmingham HMV Institute
Saturday 23rd November 2013 – Norwich UEA
Monday 25th November 2013 – Dublin Olympia Theatre
Tuesday 26th November 2013 – Belfast Limelight
Wednesday 27th November 2013 – Glasgow ABC
Friday 29th November 2013 – Bristol Academy
Saturday 30th November 2013 – Oxford Academy
Sunday 1st December 2013 – London Shepherd’s Bush Empire
Monday 2nd December 2013 – London Shepherd’s Bush Empire

 

Deap Vally / October and November 2013 UK Tour

 
By on Tuesday, 3rd September 2013 at 9:00 am
 

Blistering L.A. duo Deap Vally have announced their biggest UK headline tour to date for October and November. The tour kicks off on the 29th of October at Sheffield Leadmill and continues on until the last date on the 14th of November at London Electric Ballroom. Tickets are on sale tomorrow, Wednesday the 4th of September, at 9 AM.

We posted the video for the latest single, ‘Bad For My Body’, last month on TGTF; watch it here.

Tuesday 29th October 2013 – Sheffield Leadmill
Wednesday 30th October 2013 – Oxford Academy 2
Friday 1st November 2013 – Brighton Concorde 2
Saturday 2nd November 2013 – Bristol Trinity
Monday 4th November 2013 – Nottingham Rock City Basement
Tuesday 5th November 2013 – Manchester Club Academy
Thursday 7th November 2013 – Birmingham Academy 2
Friday 8th November 2013 – Leeds Wardrobe
Sunday 10th November 2013 – Newcastle Warehouse 34
Monday 11th November 2013 – Edinburgh Liquid Room
Tuesday 12th November 2013 – Glasgow Oran Mor
Thursday 14th November 2013 – London Electric Ballroom

 

Kids in Glass Houses / September and October 2013 UK/Irish Tour

 
By on Friday, 30th August 2013 at 8:30 am
 

Kids in Glass Houses release their next album ‘Peace’ on Transmission Recordings on the 30th of September. And they will be touring the UK and Ireland right before and directly after the release. Tickets are on sale now.

Wednesday 25th September 2013 – Liverpool Academy
Thursday 26th September 2013 – Norwich Waterfront
Friday 27th September 2013 – Lincoln Engine Shed
Saturday 28 September 2013 – Birmingham Asylum
Tuesday 1st October 2013 – Brighton Concorde 2
Wednesday 2nd October 2013 – London Electric Ballroom
Thursday 3rd October 2013 – Cardiff Great Hall
Friday 4th October 2013 – Manchester Academy 2
Saturday 5th October 2013 – Glasgow Garage
Sunday 6th October 2013 – Newcastle Warehouse
Tuesday 8th October 2013 – Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms
Wednesday 9th October 2013 – Nottingham Rescue Rooms
Thursday 10th October 2013 – Oxford Academy 2
Saturday 12th October 2013 – Dublin Academy 2
Sunday 13th October 2013 – Cork Cypress Avenue

 

Islet / October 2013 UK Tour

 
By on Tuesday, 20th August 2013 at 9:00 am
 

Welsh group Islet will be releasing their second album ‘Released By the Movement’ on the 7th of October on Shape Records. They will also be going on tour on the UK that month too. Tickets are on sale now.

Saturday 5th October 2013 – Cardiff Clwb Ifor Back
Saturday 12th October 2013 – Bristol Simple Things Festival @ Colston Hall 2
Sunday 13th October 2013 – Sheffield Audacious Art Experiment
Monday 14th October 2013 – Manchester Ruby Lounge
Tuesday 15th October 2013 – Glasgow Nice N Sleazy’s
Wednesday 16th October 2013 – London Birthdays
Thursday 17th October 2013 – Brighton Hope
Friday 18th October 2013 – Oxford Modern Art Oxford
Saturday 19th October 2013 – Leeds Brudenell Social Club – Octernal Festival
Friday 25th October 2013 – Liverpool Shipping Forcast
Saturday 26th October 2013 – Sunderland Independent
Sunday 27th October 2013 – Cambridge Portland Arms   

 
Page 10 of 51« First...8910111213...2030...Last »
 
 

About Us

There Goes The Fear is where we tell you about the latest tours, gigs, and music we love and think you should too.

We love music that has its heart on its sleeve, tells a story, swims around our head all day or makes us dance like idiots.

The blog is edited by Mary Chang, who is based in Washington DC. She is joined by writers in the UK and America. It was started up by Phil Singer in Bristol, UK.

All MP3s are posted with the permission of the artists or their representatives and are for sampling only. Like the music? Buy it. If you want a track removed, email us and we'll sort it ASAP.

E-mail us  |  RSS Feed   RSS Feed  

Learn More About Us