SXSW 2014 | SXSW 2013 | Sound City 2014 | Sound City 2013 | Great Escape 2013

Don't forget to like There Goes the Fear on Facebook and follow us on Twitter! ~TGTF HQ x

Video of the Moment #1686: Ben Howard

 
By on Sunday, 23rd November 2014 at 10:00 am
 

‘I Forget Where We Were’ is the title track on Ben Howard‘s stunning recent LP, released in back in October, reviewed here. The starkly metaphorical new video, a directorial debut for Howard, features a slightly-shortened version of the track and plays off of the song’s abstractly poetic lyrics, visually capturing the balance between romance and realism in just the way Howard’s music does on the album.

YouTube Preview Image
 

Video(s) of the Moment #1685: Hozier

 
By on Saturday, 22nd November 2014 at 10:00 am
 

Irish singer/songwriter Hozier has upped the ante once again, unveiling not one but two separate videos for his recent single ‘From Eden’. The song features on both his self-titled debut album and the earlier ‘From Eden’ EP. The album version of the song is slightly different to the EP version, and the new official video highlights one of the main differences between the two iterations, namely the slithering, flamenco-flavoured instrumental bridge. The video takes a slightly off-kilter view of the oft-celebrated Bonnie and Clyde scenario, perfectly synching the crisis point of the dramatic action with the aforementioned bridge section.

In addition to the official video, Sofar Sounds have just premiered a live performance video from Hozier’s appearance at their Manchester showcase back in September. The intimate Manchester performance features a stripped back version of ‘From Eden’, emphasising Hozier’s soulful singing and bluesy acoustic guitar chops over his sense of dramatic flair. The skillfully edited video below demonstrates both the high quality of Hozier’s musicianship and the cozy, informal atmosphere that has become synonymous with Sofar Sounds. Watch both below.

YouTube Preview Image YouTube Preview Image
 

Video of the Moment #1684: Belle and Sebastian

 
By on Friday, 21st November 2014 at 6:00 pm
 

After announcing a new UK tour for May 2015 and a headline slot at Liverpool Sound City 2015, Belle and Sebastian now have released the video for ‘The Party Line’, the first track revealed from their upcoming album ‘Girls in Peacetime Want to Dance’, due to be released on the 19th of January 2015 on Matador Records. You ready for Stuart Murdoch and co. to get a little funky? Watch the throwback video for the song with a prominent disco beat below.

YouTube Preview Image
 

Little Comets / February and March 2015 UK Tour

 
By on Friday, 21st November 2014 at 9:00 am
 

Little Comets have announced a tour of the UK to follow the upcoming release of their 3rd album ‘Hope is Just a State of Mind’, due out on the 16th of February 2015 on their own The Smallest Label. The band are currently running a PledgeMusic campaign for album pre-orders, which is available exclusively to listeners in the UK. Tickets for the following live shows are on sale now.

Our quite large archive on Little Comets is this way.

Monday 23rd February 2015 – Nottingham Rescue Rooms
Tuesday 24th February 2015 – Cambridge Junction
Wednesday 25th February 2015 – Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms
Thursday 26th February 2015 – Bristol Fleece
Sunday 1st March 2015 – Belfast Limelight 2
Monday 2nd March 2015 – Glasgow King Tut’s
Tuesday 3rd March 2015 – Aberdeen Tunnels
Friday 6th March 2015 – York Fibbers
Saturday 7th March 2015 – Birmingham Institute
Thursday 12th March 2015 – London Koko
Friday 13th March 2015 – Manchester Academy
Saturday 14th March 2015 – Newcastle Academy

 

Bipolar Sunshine / March and April 2015 UK/Irish Tour

 
By on Friday, 21st November 2014 at 8:00 am
 

Manchester soul-pop artist Bipolar Sunshine has just unveiled a new single called ‘Daydreamer’, to be released on the 25th of January, ahead of the planned summer release of his debut LP. Along with the single, he has also announced a hefty list of spring tour dates, including a show at Heaven in London and a hometown date at the Manchester Ritz. Tickets for the following shows are available now, and you can listen to the infectious ‘Daydreamer’ below the tour date listing.

For all things Bipolar Sunshine on TGTF, head here.

Thursday 26th March 2015 – Dublin Whelans
Friday 27th March 2015 – Belfast Limelight
Saturday 28th March 2015 – Edinburgh Electric Circus
Sunday 29th March 2015 – Glasgow Oran Mor
Tuesday 31st March 2015 – Newcastle Think Tank
Wednesday 1st April 2015 – Leeds Belgrave Music Hall
Thursday 2nd April 2015 – Liverpool Kazimier
Friday 3rd April 2015 – Nottingham Rescue Rooms
Tuesday 7th April 2015 – Leicester Scholar
Wednesday 8th April 2015 – Birmingham Institute Library
Thursday 9th April 2015 – Oxford Academy 2
Friday 10th April 2015 – Cambridge Junction
Sunday 12th April 2015 – Bristol Thekla
Monday 13th April 2015 – Brighton Haunt
Tuesday 14th April 2015 – Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms
Thursday 16th April 2015 – London Heaven
Friday 17th April 2015 – Manchester Ritz

YouTube Preview Image
 

Video of the Moment #1683: A Sunny Day in Glasgow

 
By on Thursday, 20th November 2014 at 6:00 pm
 

A Sunny Day in Glasgow released their latest album ‘Sea When Absent’ back in the summertime, out now on Lefse Records. (Read Carrie’s review of the LP here.) Their latest promo is for ‘Crushin”, and the dissonant guitars of the song work well with the dark, ominous video treatment. Watch it below.

YouTube Preview Image
 
Page 1 of 1,305123456...1020...Last »
 
 

About Us

There Goes The Fear is where we tell you about the latest tours, gigs, and music we love and think you should too.

We love music that has its heart on its sleeve, tells a story, swims around our head all day or makes us dance like idiots.

The blog is edited by Mary Chang, who is based in Washington DC. She is joined by writers in the UK and America. It was started up by Phil Singer in Bristol, UK.

All MP3s are posted with the permission of the artists or their representatives and are for sampling only. Like the music? Buy it. If you want a track removed, email us and we'll sort it ASAP.

E-mail us  |  RSS Feed   RSS Feed  

Learn More About Us